The OwlCat Art Studio

Commissions and etc.

I’ve finally updated the Commissions Gallery, please go check it out.   The occassion was called for by a recent project, my first acrylic painting in over two years, based on Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea.  While I was never particularly struck by the book and I’ve no particular interest in montrous fish, the item was intended as a gift for an avid fisherman (also my brother-in-law).  And while the content of the picture wasn’t quite enough to get me excited, I’ll admit that I was psyched for an opporunity to try my hand at an ocean scene.  Living in Colorado, it comes much more naturally to get stuck on “dry” landscapes, and this was a welcome challenge.  I actually repainted both the sky and the ocean several times, but by the end I feel like I had a much better grasp on it and I’m really pretty pleased with the result.  The marlin looks pretty marlin-ish too, so that’s a bonus.

The Old Man and the Sea

Acrylic on 12 x 16″ canvas panel

 

In other news, I’ve constantly got a dozen or so projects on the backburner (I could fill a kitchen with ovens just for the backburners), so stay tuned for my next endeavor.

~KRH

2 responses

  1. Nice work! This shot is way better than the phone picture. 🙂

    February 15, 2010 at 7:24 pm

    • khuxman

      Thanks! I actually had to tweak the picture digitally to get the colors to come out at all, but this is a pretty fair representation. Acrylics have such a sheen to them that most of my pictures didn’t come out without significant glare.

      February 15, 2010 at 9:47 pm

Leave a Reply

