The OwlCat Art Studio

Long time no post?

Oops — I fell off the internet again.  Sometimes I’m just super awful about keeping up here.  My bad.  I’ve been distracted with trying to find a regular, pay-the-bills job.  Monetizing art is … difficult.  Commissions are just never plentiful enough and sometimes I spend too much time looking for opportunities and not enough time actually producing art.  When the opportunities come around, I often feel like I don’t have any art recent enough to show what I can do.  It’s a vicious cycle.  So, I’m working on finding a job.

I also have some new, more solid intentions for monetizing my art efforts.  A friend of mine uses a print service that does all manner of products at very reasonable prices.  I get intimidated easily, so I’m planning some bookmarks and cards initially (easy to mail, plus they’re not expensive so I can keep products cheap for the buyer and build a fan base, so to speak).  Once I have those ordered, I’ll set up a shop on Etsy and see about moving some things.  I have some paintings that need selling too, and it’s hard to find a venue in my physical area.  Highest priorities: finish another bookmark and a card or two, design a new business card (the old ones have too much old information).

 

Also, there’s a call for art from a gallery here in town and I have a few sketches that, once fleshed out into larger and fully colored pieces, would be appropriate for the theme.

Just for the sake of posting, here’s a doodle from my sketchbook:

kirin doodleSorry about the shadow on the side, it’s the binding of my sketchbook.  Anyway, it’s a Kirin!

That’s all for now.  I’ll try to get more content scanned soon and maybe preview my new business card design (once I’ve designed it…).
Happy April!

One response

  1. Randy Williams

    Nice!

    April 5, 2015 at 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

