The OwlCat Art Studio

Back to it… with conviction!

Calligraphy, card stock, watercolors

The latest project, in development.

Hello Everyone!  I must apologize for my long absence.  I was working a “day job” and it was more taxing on my art time than I’m happy with.  That being said, I’m so excited to be back!  Please continue watching and supporting me.  ❤

I have a lot in the works right now and you should be seeing some of it pretty soon! I’ll be trying to make the website a bit more visual as well, so look forward to more picture content accompanying blog posts.  On that note, did you know that I do calligraphy?  It’s true!  I’ve dabbled (to use the term very liberally) for several years, but have finally found the resources to feel like I “get” it to any extent.  You’ll be seeing it incorporated into some upcoming projects. Mostly this is dip pen calligraphy for now.  I’m exploring brush and marker lettering, but  I really love the tactile experience of the dip pen.  Want to know more?  Let me know; I’d be very happy to introduce my supplies and drop a few names if you’d like resources.

 

In the meantime, in addition to the picture up top, here’s a sneak peek at my most impending project:

Just a mock-up for the final item

 

Another partial-size mock-up

These are just the mock-ups, but the real things will be launching on Etsy really soon. I’m also looking at re-launching myself on deviantArt and making some prints available that way.  Don’t forget you can get your hands on my bookmarks (featured in the post below) from my shop on Etsy.

 

So that’s a little bit of what’s going on.  What do you think?

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Feathery Sentiments | Kristin Huxman ~ Illustration and Artistry

  2. What paint are those? They look great!

    July 25, 2017 at 4:03 am

    • kristinkitten

      Hi Jemehh!
      The feathers were done with Staedter watercolor pencils. The watercolor pans are… a bit generic? I’m not sure I can find a name for them, they came in a (non-professional) art set I received AGES ago! I love the palette, but they actually have a lot of filler, so they’re not great for serious projects. They work fine for fun use, or even for watercolor calligraphy though. 🙂

      July 25, 2017 at 7:53 am

Leave a Reply

